If you have been arrested for committing a crime in Texas, it is important to know whether the crime was a misdemeanor or a felony. There are numerous differences between these two types of charges, including the punishments involved.
Misdemeanor crimes tend to be less severe in nature than felonies and will usually carry lesser penalties. However, these crimes can still result in significant punishments, including hefty fines, lengthy jail sentences, and a criminal record.
Some of the more common misdemeanors in Texas include:
- Drunk or drugged driving
- Domestic violence
- Possession of drugs
These misdemeanors can be split up into three classes.
- Class A: This crime carries a jail sentence of up to a year and/ or a fine of up to $4,000
- Class B: This misdemeanor can include jail time of up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
- Class C: A Class C misdemeanor carries no jail time and a fine of up to $500.
For more information regarding these three classes of misdemeanors, consider going over your questions with an experienced criminal attorney. At Krause Law Firm, we can provide you with the answers you need, help you better understand what a misdemeanor crime is, and provide you with the legal assistance you require during this challenging time.
Felony crimes are more serious types of crimes. These crimes generally involve violence, and individuals could face penalties that include life in prison, the death penalty, and incarceration.
Felony crimes in Texas can include:
- Murder or homicide
- Sexual battery
There are five different classes of felonies in Texas, and they are categorized by their severity.
- A Capital Felony: A capital felony can be punishable by the death penalty or life imprisonment with no possibility of parole. Those charged with a capital felony have usually committed homicide or murder.
- A First-Degree Felony: This felony conviction carries with it a life sentence or prison time between five and 99 years, and fines can be up to $10,000. Those found guilty of a first-degree felony are generally guilty of some aggravated crime.
- A Second-Degree Felony: Those guilty of this crime may have to pay a fine of up to $10,000 and can serve up to 20 years in jail. Second-degree felony crimes usually involve violence, such as aggravated assault.
- A Third-Degree Felony: Those guilty of a third-degree felony may be imprisoned between two and ten years and have to pay a maximum fine of up to $10,000. Examples of a third-degree felony can include child abandonment or intoxication assault.
- A State Jail Felony: A state jail felony carries a maximum state jail sentence of two years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Contact the Krause Law Firm Today To Go Over Your Legal Options
No matter if you are facing a misdemeanor or a felony offense, you should take steps to protect your legal rights. That is why contact a skilled and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at Krause Law Firm today or call us at 210-455-1333 to schedule a free, confidential case consultation.