young person being arrested

First off you’re probably wondering what is considered a misdemeanor in Texas? A misdemeanor is a criminal charge that is less serious than those at the felony level. Misdemeanors can be small amounts of drug possession, petty theft, disorderly conduct, possession of certain weapons, and first-offense DWI. As you can see these aren’t labeled as felonies because they are less severe, but are still viewed by the law as a criminal charge. 

The Three Classes of Misdemeanors 

Within the state of Texas there are three different classifications of misdemeanors. They all have different degrees of punishment depending on which one it is. Along with what falls under their classification such as burglary, stalking, and driving under the influence just to name a few. Here are all the definitions of the three different classes of misdemeanors within the state of Texas.

Class A Misdemeanor

This is the most severe out of all misdemeanors in the state of Texas. Examples of Class A misdemeanor are burglary, theft of property over $500 to $1,500, stalking without any bodily injury, and theft of cable service. The punishment for Class A is one year in a county jail and a $4,000 fine along with it. 

Class B Misdemeanor

For Class B this is the second most severe out of the three classes. Examples of a Class B misdemeanor is theft of property valued from $20 to $500, driving while under the influence, possession of up to four ounces of marijuana, and making any terroristic threats. The penalties for Class B misdemeanor is as follows, 180 days within a county jail and a fine of $2,000. 

Class C Misdemeanor

This is the least severe of the three different classifications of misdemeanors within Texas. Examples of Class C misdemeanors are theft of property valued less than $20, assault without bodily injury, producing or selling reports or term papers for use by others, and attending a dog fight. Since this is considered the least severe classification within Texas there is only a penalty of $500. There is no time spent within a county jail. 

Special Sentencing

However within Texas there are special sentencing for both Class A and Class B misdemeanors. If a person is a repeat offender of Class A they will face a mandatory minimum sentencing of 90 days within a county jail if found guilty of making another offense. For a person who is found making the same Class B misdemeanor they will have to serve a minimum of 30 days within a county jail. If there were drugs or controlled substances in an alleged crime, Class A misdemeanor charges will have a 180 day mandatory minimum. 

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in San Antonio, our team at Krause Law firm can help you today. Our team has understanding and experience with defending our clients who have been charged with a misdemeanor. Feel free to contact us today or call us at 210-455-1333.